About Hawks


The Sandgate Football Club is an immensely proud club, which is and has been an integral part of Queensland Football since 1943. The Hawks have won 8 Premierships with the QAFL/BAFL competitions. 

In the 20 years leading up to the introduction of the Brisbane Bears, Sandgate was the most successful Australian Rules Club in Queensland always drawing a crowd in excess of 3,000.

The success of individuals involved at the club has included Dick Verdon, Don Smith and John Stackpoole who were selected in AFL Queensland’s Team of the Century. Additionally, the Brisbane Lions Club ‘Most Professional Player’ award has been named after Don Smith.

Many of Queensland’s greatest footballers have played for Sandgate with more than ten being inducted into the QLD Football Hall of Fame.

Former Brisbane Lions premiership ruckman, Jamie Charman, was a Sandgate junior before being drafted to the AFL. Jamie is the current No1 ticket holder at Sandgate Football Club.

Today the club competes in the QAFL League competition, and Senior players Aaron Fabian, Connor Stackelberg, Sam Lubke and Ben Mcelligott are amongst the current rank of stars to watch.

Over 120 players compete in Seniors, Reserves, Wemon's and Masters Teams. Coupled with a junior base of over 250 players, Sandgate has established itself as the premier football club on the Brisbane north side, and was awarded Club of The Year 2010.

The coming year is set to be an exciting season with Jared Marsh taking on the position of head coach of the club. Jared has a great list of young local footballers, complimented by a number of players coming from premier domestic leagues in Melbourne and North Queensland.